top of page

My life

After finishing my studies in Agricultural Engineering in Madrid I had the opportunity to enrol in a Master of Sciences at an International Research Institute, the IAMM in Montpellier. This experience led me into academia and, after returning back to Spain, I started my thesis in the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid. During my PhD I collaborated with other research institutes (INRA Paris-Grignon) and universities (Université de Bourgogne). After finishing my thesis, I received a research grant for one year at the University of California-Davis, where I started in the fascinating world of Sensory and Consumer Science.

I have been in close collaboration with the Sensory Science Centre of the University of Nottingham since 2010, and have travelled several times with my family for short sabbaticals (4-6 months).

I have 4 children, no doubt my best projects. I try to enjoy my life working in a job that I really like (teaching and research) and sharing my free time with my family and friends.

My work

I have been an Associate Professor at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid since 2003. Since 1996 I have delivered university courses on Statistics, Operations Research, Data Analysis, Statistical Quality Control, Sensory Analysis and Sensometrics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.

I am very involved in the foundation and promotion of the activities of both the Spanish and the European Sensory Science Societies.

I am the director of the Sensometrics course (25-30 hours) organized by the Spanish Sensory Science Society (AEPAS) every year and I have been the panel leader of a panel of thirty expert sensory assessors of different foods and beverages since 2008.

I have been a member of the Sensory Analysis Committee of the Spanish Agency of Standardization since 2006

My recent research is related to consumer sensory science and more specifically to the study of the emotional response.

My hobbies

My passion is being part of musical groups. It is interesting to share music activities and learn together. I have been a member of "La Sexta Cuerda" since 2010, a guitar orchestra where I play the bass guitar. I am also a member of my children´s school choir "Colegio Internacional Kolbe" where my two daughters are Sopranos and I am a Contralto.

I love nature and trekking in the mountains with my family and friends during the weekends and holidays. 

bottom of page